SSC CGL Selection Process

Best SSC/ CGL Coaching Centres in Bangalore

SSC CGL Selection Procedure 2018 – Explanation of the Selection Stages

The different stages of SSC CGL Selection Procedure 2016 are explained below:

Tier –I:

  • This is the first stage of SSC CGL Selection Procedure. This stage will be treated as only qualifying.
  • The stage will test the basic understanding of the candidates.
  • From this year, Tier-I exam will be conducted in Computer Based Mode comprising of 200 marks Objective Multiple Choice Type questions.
  • Tier-I is used to screen the candidates for appearing in Tier-II examination for various papers which will be specifically required for different groups of posts.
  • Marks of screened candidates in Tier-I will be taken into account for final ranking.
  • The Tier-I marks will be taken into consideration for selecting them for the Computer Proficiency Tests (CPT)/Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) and also for final selection.
  • The candidates who are declared qualified in Tier-I as per the cut off marks fixed by the Commission will be eligible to appear in Tier-II of the said examination.


  • Only those candidates who qualify the Tier-I examination of SSC CGL will appear for the Tier-II examination.
  • The Tier-II examination of SSC CGL 2016 will consist of Objective Type Multiple Choice Questions comprising of 800 marks.
  • Tier –II of the examination will comprise of four papers in total. Each Paper will be for two hours. Out of these papers, two papers (Paper-I and Paper-II) are compulsory for all.
  • The Standard of the Paper-I will be of 10th Standard level, Paper-II will be of 10+2 level and Paper-III & Paper-IV will be of graduation level.
  • Candidates who qualify the Tier-II will be allowed to appear for Tier-III exam of SSC CGL 2016 Exam.


  • This is an additional stage introduced from this year by SSC which is also known Descriptive Test.
  • The test will be for 100 marks.
  • The Tier-III exam will be held in Pen and Paper mode.
  • This paper has been introduced to assess the writing skills of the candidates which are necessary in Government jobs.
  • The qualifying marks in Tier-III will be 33 per cent.
  • The questions in this paper will be of 10+2 standard.
  • The marks obtained by the candidates in Tier-I & Tier-II together will determine the eligibility of the candidates to appear in Tier-III.


  • The marks obtained by the candidates in Tier I & Tier II together, will determine the eligibility of the candidates to appear in Tier IV.
  • Tier-IV of the Examination will continue to be the Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) /Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) which will be of a qualifying nature.

Final Selection of Candidates

  • The final merit will be prepared on overall performance in Tier-I, Tier-II and Tier-III. However, the candidate will need to qualify all the tiers i.e. Tier-I, Tier-II and Tier-III separately.
  • There will be no sectional cut off.
  • After the Computer Based Test, Descriptive Test and the Data Entry Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test/Document verification wherever applicable, the Commission will draw up the All India Merit List for each category of post.
  • The Commission will recommend the candidates in the Merit List on the basis of the aggregate marks obtained by the candidates in the Computer Based Test, Descriptive Test and Preference exercised by the candidates in the Application Form for different Posts.
  • As many candidates as are found by the Commission to have qualified in the Examination shall be recommended for appointment for each category of post-up to the number of vacancies available, taking into consideration option for the posts.

Resolution of Tie Cases

Tie cases will be resolved by applying one after another, as applicable till the Tie is resolved.

  • Total marks in the written examination
  • Total marks of Tier-II Examination.
  • Total marks in Tier-I Examination.
  • Date of Birth, with older candidate placed higher.
  • Alphabetical order in which the first names of the candidates appear

Note: Click here for detailed Syllabus and selection process

Click here for SSC Calendar 2017

For more details about SSC Exam candidates can visit the official website of the commission